In The Armchair

India – Australia

Posted in India by Armchair Guy on June 1, 2009

india-flagaustralia-flag

There has recently been a spate of racially motivated attacks against Indians in Australia.  This is an example of Indian reporting on the subject.  Google news India has more than 1000 articles on the subject, with every major English language newspaper reporting various details of the attacks, the subsequent protests, interviews with Indian students in Australia, and statements from various students and Australian politicians.

Out of curiosity, I went to google news Australia, to see what the Aussies think about all this.  Not too surprisingly, I found: nothing.  I found something about a party, some birds dying, and a whole bunch of other things.  I went down the list of articles to see whether there was anything India related. Finally, I saw ONE article on India and clicked on it.  False alarm: it was about an Aussie tourist who had died a natural death in India (but the Aussie press sounded like they wanted it to be a murder).

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that there are racially motivated attacks in Australia.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Flavian Hardcastle said, on November 6, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    I’m Australian, and I am quite disgruntled that a lot of Indians seem to be spouting vague generalisations about my country.

    I would like to know how many assaults this “spate” consists, and exactly how that compares to the average assault rate in Australia. I think it would be fairer if you let your readers have that information.

    For instance, the highest figure for assaults against Indians in Australia is 152, for the entire country, over the course of 2009. That comes from the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs, reporting to the Lok Sanha in Feb 2010.

    http://www.indianexpress.com/news/only-23-of-152-oz-attacks-racist-ministry-tells-ls/584247/0

    By comparison, there were about 34,000 assaults in Melbourne alone over the same period.

    http://www.police.vic.gov.au/content.asp?a=internetBridgingPage&Media_ID=59806

    So is there any actual evidence that Indians are over represented in assaults in Australia?

  2. Armchair Guy said, on November 6, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Flavian:

    Yes, I do agree many Indians (myself included) spouted a lot of vague generalizations around the time the violence was highlighted. It’s been a while since this controversy was in the news. I don’t remember the evidence, though I seem to remember the homicide rates were high for Indians. I’ll look and post it if I can find it again.

    But evidence of racism comes in various forms. I outlined many of my thoughts on this in the first comment on this page:

    http://sabhlokcity.com/2010/06/my-two-bits-for-good-relations-between-india-and-australia/.

    I just noticed you posted a comment there as well.

    I don’t believe racism is something that Australians indulge in on a constant basis. Aussie reactions to the incidents were my main reason for the conclusion that racism is present.


Leave a Reply

