In The Armchair

Warm Chickpea Salad

Posted in Food by Armchair Guy on April 25, 2009

I used to make this dish quite regularly when I was on a bit of a health binge.  It’s easy, healthy, filling and absolutely delicious: the perfect recipe.  It’s been a while since I made it, though, and when I tried to find this recipe again today — I couldn’t.  For about a half hour.  It was a major scare for me; I thought I’d lost it forever.  When I finally found it, (the original is here on recipezaar) I decided I’d blog it immediately so I don’t forget it again… so here goes!  I’ve made some modifications to suit my Desi palate.

Ingredients

3 tomatoes, cut into quarters
4 teaspoons olive oil
2 small red chilies, crushed
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1 red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup white wine (I prefer a chardonnay or riesling)
400 g chickpeas, drained and rinsed (garbonzos 14 oz)
1 tablespoon lemon or lime juice
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest, zested finely (I omit this if I’m feeling lazy)
1 handful of coriander leaves, finely chopped

Directions

Chop tomatoes into a rough dice and crush chillies.

Heat the oil in a frying pan. Add the chilli, garlic and red onion. Stir over a medium heat for about 5 minutes.

Add the chopped tomatoes and the wine. Reduce heat to low. Cover the skillet and cook for another 2-3 minutes. The mixture should be soft.

Stir in the chickpeas, add salt to taste and cook covered for another 3-4 minutes.  Remove from heat, add lemon juice, lemon zest, stir.  Garnish with coriander leaves.

Done!

I read somewhere that wine works in such recipes because it’s acidic (turns into vinegar if oxidized), and this helps to break down proteins in the chickpeas, giving them a better taste.

Leave a Reply

