In The Armchair

Hindi Movies to Watch

Posted in Movies and Entertainment by Armchair Guy on July 24, 2008

Here’s a non-exhaustive list of Hindi movies I enjoyed, in no particular order (so far). Most of them are recent, meaning post-1995; I’ve marked older movies. Movies I’ve written about are linked. I might add star ratings and sort them in some order later, and will keep adding good movies that I watch.

  1. Dor
  2. Pinjar
  3. Iqbal
  4. Taare Zameen Par
  5. Chuk De India
  6. Johnny Gaddar
  7. Om Shanti Om
  8. Awara (pre-1995)
  9. Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
  10. Dharm
  11. Manorama: Six Feet Under
  12. 3 Deewarein
  13. No Smoking
  14. Water
  15. Earth
  16. Hyderabad Blues
  17. The Blue Umbrella
  18. Taxi No. 9211
  19. Swades
  20. Bheja Fry
  21. Main, Meri Patni, aur Woh
  22. Dдsvidдniyд
  23. Hazaron Khwahishen Aisi
  24. Dil Dosti Etc.
  25. Peepli Live.  This movie has art, soul and humour.  Excellent stuff!
  26. Ishqiya
  27. No One Killed Jessica
  28. Dhobhi Ghat
  29. Dhoondte Reh Jaaoge
  30. Band Baaja Baraat.  At first this movie seemed as bad as the droves of typical Hindi movies that come out all over, but the leads are excellent actors and it manages to be fun.
  31. Delhi Belly.  Everybody said this movie was “different”.  I didn’t think it was different, but it was a pretty good movie.
  32. Aarakshan. Amitabh wants kids to find the “universe” of a matrix using elementary operations, and the ending is silly, but this movie is by and large excellent.  I really liked the use of percussion in the soundtrack.
  33. English Vinglish.  Beautifully done.  I knew there was a good reason I liked Sridevi back in the day.
  34. Bhaag Milkha, Bhaag.  Finally, a Bollywood sports movie where it actually looks like the actor is a sportsman.
Tagged with: , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. B.Slade said, on December 30, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    What about Ishqiya, Kamine etc. and Vishal Bhardwaj’s other movies? In my opinion he’s the most innovative Hindi film-maker working today.

    • Armchair Guy said, on December 31, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      I haven’t watched Kamine yet, but Ishquiya should definitely be on this list. I’ve added it. Yes, I agree Vishal Bhardwaj is one of the best in Hindi.


Leave a comment